Empowering Music Teachers to Decenter Whiteness

Empowering Music Teachers to Decenter Whiteness

Certificate for 10 Hours Professional Development available upon completion of course.

Looking to better understand how Whiteness has impacted music education?

Unsure how to nurture an anti-racist teaching and learning environment?

Feeling overwhelmed with how to decenter Whiteness and colonized pedagogies?

Curious about how you might analyze your current music curriculum and standards through an anti-racist lens?

Wanting some practical ways to adjust your curriculum to decenter Whiteness?

Join us for this course with

 

– recommended reading, listening and watching

– recorded asynchronous video webinars from course facilitators


– live interviews, discussions and Q and A with distinguished anti-racist educators


– actionable personal and professional next steps

 

Registration opens July 6th.

Course starts July 20th.

Facilitated by Nyssa Brown, and Karen Howard
Hi, my name is Nyssa. I work with teachers and educational leaders like you who strive to transform music learning for students, teachers and communities. Ultimately, it is my hope this transformative process will benefit the schools of today and shape the world for the future.
Nyssa Brown, MusicEdForward
Karen Howard
Karen Howard, Ph.D.

With Guests:

Certificate for 10 Hours Professional Development available upon completion of course.

Empowering Music Teachers to Decenter Whiteness

$47.00 USD

Certificate for 10 Hours Professional Development available upon completion of course.

A portion of each course registration will go to support organizations selected by our guests.

Purchase of this course is intended for individual teacher use only.

The platform for this course is Kajabi. You will be directed to their platform for checkout.

For groups of 5 or more teachers (in a given school or district) wishing to purchase the course at a discounted group rate, please contact me.

Course Outline

Module 1
Foundations and Reflections

Module 2
Critical Analysis of Music Education Frameworks

Module 3
Culturally Relevant Pedagogy and Diversity: Commonalities and Differences

Module 4
Inquiry and Authenticity in Performance Practice

Module 5
Intersectionality and Teacher Identity

Closing Module
Transforming students, teachers, and communities through music education.

Empowering Music Teachers to Decenter Whiteness

$47.00 USD

A portion of each course registration will go to support organizations selected by our guests.

Purchase of this course is intended for individual teacher use only. The platform for this course is Kajabi. You will be directed to their platform for checkout.
For groups of 5 or more teachers (in a given school or district) wishing to purchase the course at a discounted group rate, please contact me.  

Timeline for Course:

July 20 – 24 Daily asynchronous learning July 24, 27-31 Daily synchronous calls with Guests: July 24 – 2:30 pm East Coast/1:30 pm Central/11:30 am West Coast/ 8:30 pm Amsterdam July 27-31 – 11 am East Coast US / 10 am Central / 8 am West Coast / 5 pm Amsterdam* * Calls are 1 hour in length ALL of the course content CAN be done asynchronously. Course content available through September 30, 2020.
 
Guest Zoom schedule July 24th 1:30 pm central time – Dr. Juliet Hess

Your time for this call is: 07/24/2020 06:30:00 PM UTC

July 27th – Adrian Davis

Your time for this call is: 07/27/2020 03:00:00 PM UTC

July 28th – Lyz Jaakola

Your time for this call is: 07/28/2020 03:00:00 PM UTC

July 29th – Roque Diaz

Your time for this call is: 07/29/2020 03:00:00 PM UTC

July 30th – Dr. Ahmed Anzaldúa

Your time for this call is: 07/30/2020 03:00:00 PM UTC

Jul 31st – Jasmine Fripp

Your time for this call is: 07/24/2020 03:00:00 PM UTC

Empowering Music Teachers to Decenter Whiteness